The Avalanche finalized their opening night roster yesterday and officially announced it today. Because of salary cap restrictions, they are not utilizing the full 23-player allotment, instead going with 21 players but using a full six-player taxi squad. The breakdown of the roster is: 12 forwards Burakovsky MacKinnon Rantanen Saad Kadri Landeskog Nichushkin Compher Donskoi Jost Bellemare Calvert 7 defensemen…

Not a Subscriber? Start now and get your first month for only 50 cents!

Login for Subscribers


A.J. Haefele was born in Aurora, Colorado, raised in Katy, Texas and is the Colorado Avalanche beat reporter for DNVR. AJ helped launch the network back in 2015 and has filled roles as a team leader and Editor-In- Chief, along with co-hosting the DNVR draft podcasts along with his other duties. You can hear him every weekday on the DNVR Avalanche podcast.